This is not the official budget document.

Budget Summary FY2015

Search for line item


Outside Section 249
Data Current as of:  10/17/2014

Previous Outside Section Next Outside Section


Elevator study commission

SECTION 249.   There shall be an elevator study commission to examine elevator safety, maintenance and inspections, including current regulations and practices industry-wide. The commission shall recommend reforms that are fair and reasonable to the consumer but increase efficiency of use of public resources while maintaining a high level of public safety. The examination shall not be limited to: practices in other states and jurisdictions; frequency of inspections; methods of inspection; licensing processes; costs and fees to maintain elevator safety; costs and fees to certify elevator safety; department fines; use of information technology; elevator inspector licensing; updating the elevator code; and elevator operator and elevator mechanic industry practices and fees.

The commission shall consist of: the secretary of public safety or a designee; the commissioner of public safety or a designee, who shall serve as chair; the chief of inspections of the board of elevator regulations; and 7 persons to be appointed by the governor, 1 of whom shall have expertise as an elevator mechanic, 1 of whom shall be a licensed elevator inspector, 1 of whom shall have expertise in the construction industry, 1 of whom shall represent labor, 1 of whom shall represent the commercial real estate industry, 1 whom shall represent the elevator manufacturing industry and 1 of whom shall be a representative from the National Elevator Industry, Inc.

The commission shall file its final report, including its recommendations and any drafts of legislation necessary to carry those recommendations into effect, by filing the same with the house and senate chairs of the joint committee on public safety and homeland security, the chairs of the house and senate committees on ways and means and the clerks of the senate and the house of representatives on or before January 1, 2015.